Eagleson Lecture Series Award

Past Recipients

2016 - Nikolaos Vasilakis, PhD, University of Texas Medical Branch—Galveston, Galveston, TX
     Title: Zika Virus—A Reemerged Arbovirus
2015 - Dan H. Barouch, MD, PhD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA
     Title: Novel HIV Vaccination and Eradication Strategies
2014 - Michael T. Osterholm, PhD, MPH, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
     Title: Challenges Facing Public Health Over the Next Decade
2013 - Marc Lipsitch, MD, PhD, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA
     Title: Biosafety and Bioethics: Special Challenges of Gain-of-Function Experiments and Potential Pandemic Pathogens
2012 - David Schaffer, PhD, University of California- Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
     Title: Directed Evolution of Designer Viral Vectors for Therapeutic Gene Delivery
2011 - Jennifer Goodrich, PhD, Department of Homeland Security, Ft. Detrick, MD
     Title: Challenges Integrating Bioforensics and Biosafety
2010 - June Medford, PhD, Colorado State University, Ft. Collins, CO
     Title: The Promises and Challenges of Synthetic Biology
2009 - Robert B. Tesh, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
     Title: Laboratory Surveillance of West Nile Virus Activity in the Houston Metropolitan Area
2008 - Alan Barrett, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
     Title: Biocontainment: The Continual Need for Interactions Both Inside and Outside the Institution
2007 - Jeffrey Leid, PhD, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ
     Title: Bugs, Biofilms and Biosafety
2006 - Ralph Timperi, MPH, Association of Public Health Laboratories, Silver Spring, MD
     Title: Global Biosafety
2005 - No Award Presented
2004 - Paul W. Brown, MD, Consultant
     Title: Wrapping Up the Mad Cow Story
2003 - R. Mark L. Buller, PhD, Louis University, St. Louis, MO
     Title: IL-4 Enhancement of Poxvirus Lethality, Implications for Smallpox
2002 - Ron Atlas, PhD, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, President ASM
     Title: Current Issues Dealing with Recombinant DNA
2001 - Randall Murch, PhD, Federal Bureau of Investigation Forensics Division
     Title: Biosafety in Forensic Investigation
2000 - Anthony Fauci, MD, NIAID, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD
     Title: AIDS: Considerations for the 21st Century
1999 - Ronald Crystal, MD, Cornel University Medical College, New York Weill Cornell Center, New York, NY
     Title: A Decade of Gene Therapy
1998 - JoAnn Burkholder, PhD, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC
     Title: Pfiesteria Piscicida
1997 - Stanley B. Prusiner, MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
     Title: Mad Cows, Demented People and Biocontainment
1996 - Patti A. Wetzel, MD, AIDs Educator
     Title: Occupational Exposure for Healthcare Workers: A Personal Perspective
1995 - Richard Preston, Author
     Title: The Hot Zone
1994 - Mary Gilchrist, PhD, Abbott Laboratories
     Title: Laboratory Safety Beyond Bloodborne Pathogens TX or TB
1993 - Gary Simpson, MD, PhD, New Mexico State Health Department, Santa Fe, NM
     Title: Hantavirus 101
1992 - Alan Hinman, MD, Centers for Disease Control, Atlanta, GA
     Title: Tuberculosis-Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

Calendar Members Only